Age discrimination occurs when a decision is made on the basis of a person’s age. In the workplace, these are most often decisions about being employed in the first place, winning promotions or being unfairly dismissed. Should discrimination against old

Nowadays, it is widely believed that the workplace should be free from any kind of discrimination including age discrimination. Older workers are the assets to any organization and they possess experience and expertise that any organization should value. This essay will discuss that any employee should be treated equally irrespective of their ages and any kind of existing discrimination should be regarded as illegal.

To commence with, we find various kinds of people from the different age group in any organization. Furthermore, It is obviously not a good culture to discriminate people in terms of age. Old aged people possess a lot of experience through which new and younger employee can learn and develop themselves. It is also salient that older employees possess a lot of transferable skills through which new employees can be benefited. For instance, any organization it is more likely that senior employee gives training to the freshers. Hence, it is apparent to me that the older worker is a key personality of any company.

In addition, there should not be any discrimination in terms of age because age does not determine the personality, attitude, and experience of a person. Any organization should make decisions which are not biased and is not influenced by age groups. To illustrate, a Microsoft company takes views from all employees while making decisions and does not discriminate between its employees in terms of age too. Thus, it is evident that age is just a number and has nothing to do while making decisions.

In conclusion, older people deserve the same level of respect and participation while making decisions. Thus, it is conspicuous that discrimination against older worker should be made illegal.