: Air transport is increasingly used to export fruit and vegetables where they cannot be grown or out of season. Do the benefits of this trend outweigh the drawbacks?

Numerous vegetables and fruits that we consume in our daily routine are grown in foreign countries and they must be imported from long distances by air to places that are not in season or their land are not exploitable to plant. I personally think that its disadvantages outstrip its advantages in most occasions.

On the one hand, exponents of this arguable paradox assert that exporting and importing foods through air transportation have opened a great deal of opportunities in marketing and business. Owing to that chance, imported food that is unfamiliar for local costs overpriced due to its novelty in poor countries and it may give a chance to improve their living standards that are similar to developed countries. According to this, delivery by air is quicker than the others. Seasonal fruits and vegetables that are planted in faraway countries can be delivered as soon as possible by keeping the quality and taste immutable. Only air transport can cover long distances in such a short time to achieve this goal.

On the other hand, an impact on the environment may create an opposite side of it. These days one of the biggest problems around the world is global warming, and burning fossil fuels in the form of plain is one of the main factors contributing to it. To illustrate, transporting millions of tones food by air can make this problem to be more complex. This is because, from one flight air transport can release a large amount of CO2 and other gases into the atmosphere. Consequently, climate change in our earth cannot be avoid if this trend continues.

To sum up, I believe that importing and transferring food by air have both demerits and merits, but its drawbacks outweigh benefits of it.