Air transport is increasingly used to export fruits and vegetables to countries where they cannot be grown or are out of season. Some people say it is a good thing, but other people think it can’t be justified. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are divided as to whether or not perishable produce should be imported from far away. Whilst some maintain that it is impossible to establish such a challenging mission to transport food long-distance, I opine that it brings considerable benefits.

There are plausible arguments why people do not advocate the idea of food transit in the aviation industry, one of which is the severe damage to the local economy. It is noticeable that when imported goods start to come around frequently, consumers will feel a sense of curiosity especially for products that aren’t quite ubiquitous in the local area. One typical example for this phenomenon is the westernization in Viet Nam around the 90s century, when Western brands began to flocked into the Vietnamese food market with a plethora of choices for customers, therefore causing disequilibrium in sales of imported goods and local products. Another justification for the detrimental impacts of transporting food from far away is the airplane's cost to run them, should food be qualified for abroad delivery, it will go through a myriad of phases of food security ensurement. Furthermore, the need of human resources in operating both food safety and air freight control is immense and costs a fortune for airlines brand, thus it is risky for perishable produces to travel long-distance, the worst case it could severely decline the airline’s revenue.

Notwithstanding some critic’s objections, I tend towards the viewpoint that foods sourced from far away is beneficial for both the importer and exporter. First and foremost, toward the exporter side, it is advantageous to implement an express form of food transit compared to railway and marine methods especially in abroad delivery. To further analyze, aviary transportation can avoid the roadway issue in various areas with dangerous terrain, not to mention modernized aeroplane can deal with extreme weather to ensure the shipping duration. Also, it brings about a plethora of job opportunities in logistics, pilots and both aviary and food expertise. It should also be noted that importing countries that receive unique husbandry will have the chance to experience exotic flavors that are not found in local products, hence it would in turn spur economic growth and encourage consumers spending within the various choices. Knowing the fact that local practice could be overshadowed by an immense foodstuffs coming from overseas, there still are chances that imported stuff could be slashed in price should they be overproduced and become easily found.

In sum, there are sensible reasons to believe that transporting food long-distance in an airplane has drawbacks, my contention is that it is eclipsed by the benefits.