All children should study a foreign language in school, start in the earliest grades.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

These days many schools teach foreign language to kids right from the initial grades. Some people are of think this is an additional burden for children who are already stressed with academic subjects but in my opinion it is very important to learn additional foreign language, along with the native language in order to keep children more competitive for their own further opportunities.

Kids generally learn languages very fast at their age. With the invent of internet and schools providing computer education at early, it gives a lot of opportunities to children's to communicate with others around the world. For instance, VVET education center in bangalore has made french or mandarin language as mandatory to students and then connect them with overseas students weekly to exchange ideas and notes. The language study has really helped students to connect with chinese kids who have challenge communicating in english.

In some countries like India, it has become more common that students travel abroad for higher studies. For example if a students are travelling to europe and is able to communicate in french, this is not only help them settle fast but will also be able manage cultural shock effectively.

To conclude, Although some people are afraid that students learning foreign might neglect to given preference to native language , I think this can be easily avoided by giving same enforcing uniform marking system where by students should be told that all languages carry same amount of rating to score better in the exams.