All education and health care should be funded by the government and free for everyone. To extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

As we know, education brings many benefits to people. However, as to whether it is appropriate for the government to pay for students' tuition fees, there arises a heated debate among people. From the point where I stand, I believe the merits prevail over its downsides.

There are clear advantages for the state to fund education. To begin with, schooling is important to a country's long-term development, by offering free education students would have equal access to knowledge, which helps them acquire professional skills to reach their potential and realize their life value, as a result, these people can make a contribution to the society's progress. Furthermore, for those who come from disadvantaged backgrounds, attending schools free of charge gives them an opportunity to learn something that they can utilize to get rid of poverty and they are less likely to commit crimes to make a living, thus helping with social stability.

On the other hand, governments paying for schooling costs may have some potential downsides. the first problem is that it will pose a financial burden on the authority. Since the government has very limited funds which have to be appropriately allocated to each field. Then the other infrastructures would be underfunded if schools cost too much money. For example, citizens may experience bad traffic conditions if the roads cannot get upgraded, and people may suffer from health problems when the community has no budget to build parks and gardens for them to exercise. In addition, some students may take it for granted and do not cherish the opportunity to study if they do not have to pay for education.

In conclusion, taking both sides of free education into consideration, it seems to me that free education can benefit a country in the long term, while the government should be careful to allocate its budget.