All large companies should provide sports and community facilities to the local community. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is widely believed that large enterprises should construct sports and public amenities to reflect their corporate responsibilities to the local community. Although this viewpoint holds enormous benefits, I argue that governments and companies should have equal roles in providing people with such necessary facilities for several reasons which will be elucidated in this essay.

On the one hand, the compensation for industriousness and devotion from employees is one of the compelling reasons why large companies should allocate budgets to upgrading local amenities. As numerous white-collar employees are devoting their energy and maintaining their work commitment to large-scale companies, those enterprises should compensate for such devotion and conscientiousness by offering more advanced amenities for entertaining purposes, boosting job satisfaction and labour productivity. For example, Vingroup, a Vietnamese enterprise running businesses in various sectors, has constructed interconnected networks of high-quality roads and opened various gymnastics centres to residents who work for this group. As a result, those sports centres and brand-new transport networks have significantly benefited people, enhancing the quality of life of many individuals.

Nevertheless, government investment also plays an important role in improving local amenities, which enhances national prosperity. The rapid pace of urbanisation has led to overpopulation in metropolitan areas, urging the government to construct more advanced public infrastructure, including parks, schools, hospitals and sports centres to satisfy the needs of growing populations. If the government postpones the construction of such public amenities, various students cannot access education, posing a significant threat to society, such as public disorders and protests. As a result, the role of government in ensuring state-of-the-art sports and public amenities has become increasingly necessary, contributing to a more prosperous nation.

In conclusion, although some contend that building sports avenues and other amenities for residents should be the responsibility of large enterprises, I argue that such public welfare should be conducted through cooperation between the government and businesses. As enterprises join hands with the government in constructing sports and community facilities, such construction projects can be more economical and time-saving.