All students should be required to study art and music in secondary school. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the digital technology era, science subjects such as math or physics are becoming more prevalent than ever. Other subjects such as art and music seem to become less prioritized and few students decide to learn art and music as their main subjects. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the view that students should be encouraged to study art and music in secondary school.

Firstly, art and music are among the best ways to reduce stress and anxiety after school. Learning math or physics at school makes pupils tired, so drawing or listening to music can calm the mind. Teachers can hold a 10-minute painting competition or singing practice to help students relax and reduce stress. In addition, this short break puts students’ minds at ease, which helps them learn well in the next subjects. Secondly, art and music can improve communication and opportunities for socialization. If there are no art and music in secondary school, students will only focus on learning and forget making friends. Therefore, organizing an art group or music group for students can help them connect with others and reduce feelings of loneliness and isolation.

In addition, drawing pictures or playing the piano can help students improve their mood. In secondary school, pupils are often pressured by families, grades, and peers. If students feel lethargic, they can participate in artistic exercises to make them happier and more optimistic. Ultimately, both art and music can improve brain function. Art will improve students’ visualization and memorization processes during painting. While music helps pupils learn and recall information better through memorizing music notes. Overall, if students engage artistic activities, they will have a good memory and learn better.

In conclusion, art and music are indispensable parts of students’ life. I believe that art and music should be soon introduced in secondary schools.