In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby.

To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

Nowadays, more and more people from all social categories start to enjoy shopping and to consider it a relaxing activity. In my opinion, I strongly agree that regarding shopping as a hobby is a positive trend. And I am going to explain the reasons in the following paragraphs.

First of all, shopping can improve people's mental health. When individuals are sad and they do not feel like going outside, just thinking about their favorite store can boost their feeling. Furthermore, looking at a new collection from a famous clothes shop, which was thought to attract individuals' attention, and imagining themselves wearing them increases their confidence. For example, a little girl who had a bad day at school can instantly shift her mood if her mother takes her to the mall and buys her a new dress.

In addition, the hobby of buying may improve the relationships with their family. Some fathers take their sons to the toy store in order to grow a stronger connection without their children realizing it. Moreover, for some children, the action of buying has become a passion that motivates them to learn better. For instance, if his parents promise to take their kid to the Toy car store if he gets a good grade, he will study harder for that exam. In other words, shopping has become a rewarding action for some human beings.

In conclusion, shopping is a beneficial activity for individuals, boosting happiness, increasing their confidence, as well as building up strong family connections.