Although families have influence on a children’s development, factors outside the home play a bigger part in their lives nowadays.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

development of personality and character of children have been directly related to the circumstances and people surrounded them. It is true that along with family, there are some other factors that would also be greatly contribute, positively and negatively, in the development of a child. In my opinion certain factors such as friends, medias, and society could also affect the growth of personality and character in one’s early life.

Firstly, even though the family is giving a good moral support to a teenager, if his friends circle is bad, probability of having a good character would be minimal. that means friends could influence our young one’s personality greatly. For instance, many of the teenagers who have been addicted to drugs were introduced to such addictive substances by their peers. Moreover, they are spending most of their time in school and are way from the family.

Another point is the influence of media. many experts have been suggesting that medical can be detrimental to children Psychological development. our young generations are highly addicted to media and television. Not only television show with Violence and crime related topics, but also with explicit contents could be a thread to their character development.

To conclude, even though family play enormous role in children’s mental development, other factors such as influence of friends and media should also be considered.