Although it is generally prohibited, corporal punishment persists in many families. Do you think corporal punishment is an acceptable way to regulate children’s bahaviours?

People have different opinions on the role of physical punishment in raising children in families. While some people think that this is a good way for parents to enforce discipline on their children, I believe that such a practice can leave many adverse implications on the development of the children and parents could consider other different methods to teach them effectively.

Although corporal punishment can provide effectiveness on forcing children to behave in a certain way, not only can such a method have negative impacts on their childhood, but also can leave long-lasting effects. In terms of physical health, there are cases where children have beaten so severely by their guardians that they need medical attention. It is can be said that the likelihood of children not keeping up with their study schedule is high since these physical injuries may discourage them from concentrating on their homework. From the perspective of mental development, the use of physical punishment may exert detrimental effects on youngsters’ psychological health, especially during their formative years. This could push children into suffering serious mental illnesses such as anxiety and depression, while make others probably have a tendency to be more violent and aggressive, driving them to become bullies or delinquents.

Instead of setting this harmful method, there are several safer and more productive options for teaching children. Firstly, it is essential that parents need to develop an open and honest line of communication with their children. This can be done by spending more time playing with their children or helping them to do their tasks. These would offer parents more opportunities to understand their children’s thought and feeling, encouraging children to express their emotions and shape personalities. Secondly, by establishing a few rules that children can understand, parents would gradually teach them how to be more self-disciplined and responsible. For example, if one of the rules has been broken, children will not have been allowed to play with their toys for the rest of the day.

In conclusion, although corporal punishment may bring instant obedience from youngsters in their family, I believe that this practice should be ended due to its drawbacks. Other alternatives would be greater educational values to change a child’s behaviour.