Although more and more people read the news on the internet, newspapers will remain the most important source of news.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is common for people to get updates on the latest news from the internet rather than the traditional method of reading newspapers. I would argue that electronic sources will gradually replace the newspaper.

Newspapers remain an important source to get information about the latest news for several reasons. The first of these is that older generations prefer buying newspapers rather than reading online, which is because they bought newspapers for years and do not want to change their habit or simply they don't know how to use the internet to read the news. In addition to this, newspapers come with extras such as tv guides, magazines and sources of entertainment such as crossword puzzles. This helps newspapers to remain appealing to some consumers. My mother, for instance, buys newspapers every day to do the crossword or to check gossip magazines.

However, although newspapers might not disappear completely, the internet is more likely to become the more dominant source of news. This is because young people prefer to get their news from online sources since it's free and easy to access. Therefore, buyers of newspapers, the older generation, will decline with time. This will lead media companies to lose costumers and it will be unprofitable for them to print papers, so they will be forced to go online. Many newspaper companies are already started to share news on the internet in many countries.

In conclusion, electronic sources of news will replace traditional newspapers over time. This might be a sad loss given their history but it is an unavoidable development.