Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people think that it is beneficial for society to encourage young people to do volunteer work in their spare time. In this essay, I agree with this statement for the reasons I will explain below.

First of all, teenagers have lots of free time after school and they often spend it on activities like watching TV and playing video games. These activities do not help with their personal development. So it would be better to canalize their energy and time to community work. By doing this, youngsters would have a chance to socialize and help others around them. For instance, there is a charity event organised by my local church to collect money for the poor. Teenagers who participated this would go door to door around the neighbourhood and ask people to donate money. This activity helps them to gain better verbal skills and spend their spare time efficiently.

Another impact of teens joining compulsory volunteer work is its positive effect on the community. Many people need the help of others and the government cannot reach all of them. If every neighbourhood detects the people in need and acts to help them with the support of youngsters, this issue would increase significantly. For example, there is an older man without family who have cancer for 10 years. Therefore, this person really needs the help of others. So a particular organisation, sent their young volunteers every weekend to him and they do chores like cleaning and cooking for him. This might not seem like a big action, but it is really helpful for the older man. He can feel loved and cared thanks to teens.

Inconclusion, I believe it is extremely beneficial to require teens to participate in community work since this would help them expand soft skills. Also, many helpless people would feel happy.