A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It seems that old-fashioned criteria we based a person's worth such as being kind, honourable and honest are replaced by people's wealth. I partly agree with this notion since I believe there are still some people that preserve traditional values.

It is obvious that money is a big part of our lives and people admire or envy the wealthy. Most people dream about having a mansion, driving an expensive car or join A-list parties. Although, the ones that can live this fancy lives mostly turn their backs on friends, cheat on their spouses and over-indulge in alcohol or drugs. Therefore, the fantasy of being rich and have social status only impress a small group of people, like gossip magazine readers. Kardashian's, for instance, are a rich family praised by some people for their glamourous lifestyle.

On the other hand, I do believe in the day-to-day life people still believe in old values such as honour and trust. We all want to engage in loving relationships, have families and stand up for the downtrodden. Therefore, we base our friendships, business partnerships and relationships on old criteria. When someone betrays our trust or hurt people on purpose, we judge wrongdoer accordingly. In our communities, we want people that we can count on in bad times rather than wealthy snobs. For instance, a person that helps others is cherished and praised for his behaviour, not for his wealth.

In conclusion, we indeed judge people by their wealth and status. But, I believe beyond the illusion of magazines and TVs people, still cherish honest, kind and trustworthy people more than the wealthy.