Although more and more people read news on the Internet, newspapers will remain the main source for the majority of people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The widespread problem of whether or not newspapers are of no paramount importance these days has emerged as a topic of deeply-ingrained concern. It is my firm belief that newspapers still play a vital but not main role in providing news for the following reasons.

To begin with, plenty of advocates are inclined towards the fact that reading materials have been and continue to contribute a significant part to the thriving of one’s country's economy. This is due to the fact that the majority of adults, especially senior citizens have the propensity to use newspapers as the familiar means of recreation and news providing. In addition, elderly are in favor of trusted and reliable sources of information, which are occasionally provided by famous journalists in the newsroom. Another noteworthy positive effect is that newspapers would stimulate the competition amongst media enterprises. To be more specific, journal companies’ effort to be not superseded and keep pace with world’s development coupled with their modern counterparts attempts to update up-to-a-minute news on online platforms would be a driving force for the flourish of the nation. Henceforth, economy would be the chief factor associated with the irreplaceability of the newspaper.

On the other hand, the idea of newspapers’ disadvantages are also well-grounded. Firstly, substituting paper materials by the online one would be favorable in terms of price and convenience. In addition, paper is no longer suitable due to its harmful effects to the environment. Therefore, with respect to transporting news, there is no surprise that people nowadays show their preference on the online platforms over its classic counterparts.

To sum up, it is imperative to thoroughly examine strengths and weaknesses of both means of news providing before introducing such a policy