Although more and more people read the news on the internet, newspaper will remain an important source of news for the majority of people. Do you agree or disagree?

Online newspaper, Facebook and emails are everyday communication tools, although nowadays, reading news on the Internet appears to gain popularity while newspaper are used less frequently. The fears that attractiveness of traditional newspaper will be attached with less importance are rooted mainly in the concern that the growing widespread of Internet is about to make obtaining news more popular. Such worries are unsupported.

A majority of daily information involve written correspondence, whether it takes the form of online or offline. As different from reading news online, reading in writing requires a large number of techniques. The prevalence of emails and social media will not change the purposes, contents and conventions of information, but merely medium, font or sentence length. For example, successful written delivery of news are normally measured by clarity and accuracy, two elements that remain unchanged despite the upsurge in the use of Internet.

Another fact to note is that all information is interpersonal and interactive, thereby requiring information reporters to use language properly and convey messages clearly and precisely. In order to become a successful writer, one should plan, tailor, and devise his or her own writing according to the reader. Composing an article without the intended viewer will increase the possibility of poor understanding or even misunderstanding. Getting the right tone is therefore a crucial merit of old-style newspaper that is likely to influence the success of communication.

The examples that are outlined above have apparently overturned the prevailing notion that newspaper will vanish sooner or later as a result of the increased use of Internet and Facebook. Written communication requires a good knowledge of the rules of language, such as grammar, vocabulary and tone. Without a good command of those writing skills, a communicator will encounter many awkward situations.