Although more and more people read news on the internet, newspapers will remain the most important source of news.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In technology-driven world, reading news on the internet have become more accessible and common among people. While I concur with this statement, I would argue that there will still be a great need of traditional newspapers in the future.

On the one hand, it is true that people tend to surf the internet to read news rather than reading newspapers. The first reason for this is that, with just one piece of electronic equipment such as laptops or smartphones, individuals can read news and be informed almost immediately. This advantage is very necessary in today's world which never stays the same. Additionally, since the internet is now much faster and larger than in the past, readers are able to get access to a large number of news contents with a little effort. As a result, people can read what interests them and save a large amount of time as well.

On the other hand, I believe that newspapers will remain an essential source of news. Firstly, because newspapers are verified carefully by writers and publishers in advance, the reliability of newspapers would be indisputable. Although it takes more time to publish a newspaper than to post an article on a website, the risk of fake news in newspapers is usually very low. Secondly, this is a case of personal preferences that can vary a lot. While some people would prefer the convenience of reading news on the internet, others are likely to be fascinated by the feeling of touching paper. For example, my uncle still buys newspapers daily to read because, apart from being informative, they bring him happy memories of his old life.

In conclusion, while the internet has become a great means to read news, I would argue that newspapers still have their own values which are irreplaceable.