An American film actor once said, “Tomorrow is important and precious”. Some
people think individuals and society should pay more attention to the future than
to the present. Do you agree or disagree?
I certainly support the view. One should most definitely keep the future in mind and
not fritter away everything to enjoy the present. One should always remember that
the present would one day transform into the future, and when it eventually does, it
should be safe and secure. The same holds true for societies. Let us consider why it
is so important to be prepared for the coming time.
The mortality rate has come down and the span of life is generally longer, but the
period of earning is comparatively limited. Nobody knows how long he would live,
but the age of retirement is generally fixed. One cannot work indefinitely. Therefore,
during his earning span, he has to make sure that he puts aside enough money that
will hold him in good stead in his later years, when he will be able to work no more.
Further, the requirements in old age are sometimes more than a person's needs during
the period of his youth. Deteriorating health translates into higher medical bills and
hospital charges. Being weak and infirm, one needs to spend more on commuting.
He will need to hire assistants to help in the house.
Next comes the needs of the family. One has to provide for the education and
marriage expenses of the dependent members of the family, like children and even
grandchildren. One has to pay one's insurance premiums, and even for the day-to-
day needs of the younger members of the family, till such time as they are employed
and earning. Moreover, one may incur extra expenditure on leisure activities. People
generally travel more after retirement to meet their relatives and friends who may be
settled and staying far away from them. There would also be the usual expenses on
house maintenance and repair, and the payment of personal and property taxes.
The societies should also think about tomorrow. Neighbourhoods should be planned
nicely. Everyone should participate in community projects. Good educational
institutes and health centres should be there in all areas. If only today is looked into
and no planning is done for tomorrow then crime and violence would increase in
society and everyone would suffer.
Therefore, it is imperative that people and societies plan wisely for the future. If one
has saved enough, one can sit back and enjoy peace and comfort in ones later years
and even witness the smile of joy on the faces of ones children. If he has saved not,
then the journey ahead would be dreary and dismal indeed.