The animal species are becoming extinct due to human activities on land and in the sea. What are the reasons and solutions?

Many people hold the belief that human projects drive terrestrial and marine animals to the brink of extinction. This can stem from many causes, which calls for possible solutions to be adopted.

There are several factors responsible for this extirpation, the most important of which is the lack of governmental control. This gives rise to illegal poaching and logging, thereby contributing to deforestation and the loss of biodiversity. Over time, as a result, many species are imperiled by rampant habitat destruction and therefore are on the brink of extinction. Moreover, as for some enterprises, they deliberately discharge chemical waste and sewage into rivers. Such waste discharges may contain organic matter which is highly polluting to watercourses and toxic to many forms of marine life, hence mass fish and aquatic creature deaths.

There are several measures which can be taken to solve this issue. To begin with, if the government imposes stringent punishments on illegal poachers and loggers, it will act as a deterrent to potential offenders and former convicts. For example, in Vietnam, law-breakers can receive imprisonment for illegal hunting rhinos which have been putting on a red list recently due to poaching and animal smuggling. At the same time, severe financial penalties should be introduced for businesses dumping hazardous waste in the water. This can be exemplified by Vietnam, Vedan corporation, which is a chemical product corporation, was heavily fined for not managing rubbish and then pouring wastes into rivers and streams.

In conclusion, this problem results from many causes, and there are several activities that can be taken to address this issue.