Are schools and teachers responsible for low test scores and bad grades?

In the education field, schools and teachers consistently play an essential role. Some advocate that teachers should be responsible for their student’s low test scores. Others, on the other hand, claim that pupils’ awareness and learning attitude affect their testing performance. I am inclined the latter.

The first reason for my view relates to children’s ability in pursuing separate subjects. A student’s ability and interest are not the same when some students are inclined to active subjects while others prefer academic subjects such as English and sociology. Due to their different choices, learners tend to concentrate more on their favourites which leads to the imbalance in their learning outcomes. Furthermore, a number of adolecents’ attitude towards their study directly influences test results. A recent study shows that some students normally chat with their friends instead of taking notes or paying attention to their lessons.

On the flip side, educators are also partly responsible for children’s low test scores. Some just force children to achieve the general target and do not care whether their students prefer or not. However, almost teachers at schools are well-educated and impart a wide range of accurate knowledge to their learners. Moreover, teachers acknowledge some student’s deficiencies and help them to solve their problems by repeating the same explanation, giving extra exercises or even suggesting a private tutor. Hence, students can have a bigger chance not to fail in a subject.

In conclusion, undoubtedly, teachers take participant into student's life but only students can control their results. Improvement in learners’ scores needs cooperation between schools and every student.