Art classes like painting and drawing are important to students’ development and should be made compulsory in high school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, it is widely perceived that art plays a significant role in human life and also their improvement. There is a recommendation that art should be continuously taught in high school which I partly agree with as it may be true. This essay will elaborate on the reason for my personal perspective.

There are numerous reasons why art classes should be open in high school, one of which is the effect on performance. It can be noted that art classes enhance students’ creativity and the ability to apply knowledge of other subjects, which would in turn improve their performance and scores. For instance, when drawing a house, it requires students to imagine its shape in 3D and many perspectives, which can be helpful in Math. Scientists reported that children who participated in arts-rich experiences in high school demonstrated higher academic achievement and better grades compared to their peers with less art knowledge. For the mentioned reasons above, I would contend that art classes should be taught in high school.

While it is true that opening art classes bring a huge number of benefits for education, there still exist some drawbacks, especially last year students. When it becomes compulsory in school, this means the number of subjects increases and the young have to spend time on it, which would therefore be stressful. In fact, for last year students who have been under pressure to prepare for the national graduation exam and need to focus on their major such as Math, Literature and Sciences to get the highest scores, the appearance of art classes means more homeworks and more pressure. The dispersion of attention across multiple subjects may lead to the unsuccessful in the last examination and affect their choices in the future.

In sum, while there are numerous benefits of mandatory art classes in high school, its limitations are indisputable that people have to consider carefully.