Art classes like painting and drawing is important to students’ development and it should be compulsory in high school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that art class is beneficial to students’ development, therefore it ought to be mandatory in high school. Although I agree the idea that art-related courses are important, it is unnecessarily for them to be a mandatory course.

It is undoubted that art such as painting and drawing plays an important role in students' developing. To begin with, artistic design is essential in almost every aspect in modern society, which is based on the fundamental painting skills. Learning painting in high school could cultivate students’ relative skills, which may makes them become more competitive in the future. Furthermore, art classes can also foster students' aesthetic values and mould their temperament, which has huge educational significance. Finally, as a huge number of high school students are overburdened with exam-oriented courses, they need a pathway to release their pressure and art classes could be considered as an ideal stress reducer.

Despite the fact that art-related course has a lot of merits, I still hold the idea that it is unrealistic to set it as an obligatory course. It should be noticed that the majority of students could not be an artist in the future, so they just reckon painting courses as a waste of time. Compared with these courses, they prefer to spend time learning traditional ones such as math or physics, which seems to be more pragmatic for attending college or hunting jobs. Besides, for those less talented students, painting classes may make them feel difficult to handle with. Once they cannot get the ideal performance, they tend to be frustrated. Therefore, it is reasonable to set the art class as an elective and those who are interested in drawing and painting could get professional direction.

In conclusion, art-related courses are indeed important to cultivate well-rounded high school students, but they should not be promoted as a compulsory lesson.