Art classes like painting and drawing is important to students’ development and it should be compulsory in high school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that art class is beneficial to students’ personal development, therefore it ought to be a core lesson in high school. I partly agree this opinion, but I think that it is impractical for everyone to attend the art courses.

It is undoubted that visual arts, such as painting and drawing play an important role in modern society. To begin with, artistic design is essential in almost every domain in the business world, which is based on the fundamental painting skills. Learning it in high school could effectively cultivate students’ relative skills and it can also help talented students clear their objective in advance. Even for those who do not want to be artists in the future, painting classes can also foster their basic aesthetic values, which has huge educational sense. In addition, high school life is full of pressure since students have to strive for their ideal colleges. Attending painting and drawing courses can greatly alleviate their academic pressure and regulate their intensive daily routine, which is useful and helpful for students.

While art courses have a lot of merits, I still hold the idea that it is unrealistic to set them as a compulsory lesson. First of all, as the majority of students could not be an artist in the future, they just reckon art classes as a waste of time. Compared with these classes, they prefer to spend time learning scientific classes such as math or physics, which seems to be more pragmatic for improving their academic score and attending college. Besides, for those less talented students, the painting class may make them feel difficult to handle with and once they cannot get the ideal performance, they tend to be frustrated. Therefore, it is reasonable to set the art class as an elective. Those who are interested in painting could get professional direction there.

In conclusion, art class is indeed important to cultivate well-rounded high school students, but it should not be promoted as a compulsory lesson.