Art is considered an essential part of all cultures throughout the world. However, these days fewer and fewer people appreciate art and turn their focus to science, technology and business. Why do you think that is? What could be done to encourage more pe

In the past decades, the number of people applauding arts decreased significantly. In this essay, I will analyze the reasons behind this trend and also suggest possible ways to boost people’s interest in arts.

It is true that art enriches our culture, but artistic jobs are claimed to be impractical and unrealistic. While science and technology could improve human life through their inventions and new discoveries, arts only satisfy people mentally. Recently, material needs have risen increasingly as a result of population growth. Therefore people tend to value jobs which can provide physical products rather than spiritual welfare. In addition, arts learning might not promote a successful career. Obviously, artists often earn less money than scientists or businessmen. Besides, creativity, which is an erratic pattern, is considered the essence of arts. Hence artists are not guaranteed a permanent career if their creativity is stifled someday.

In order to enhance art industry, these potential ways should be taken. Firstly, creating job opportunity for artists by opening more museums and galleries where they can show and sell their works. Secondly, the government should give more patronage to support art study and awarding scholarships is a case in point. Finally, arts should be evaluated positively and their contribution to human culture ought to be recognized. For example, the artist who creates a masterpiece should be praised as when a scientist creating a new invention.

In conclusion, some major reasons why people lose their interest in arts can be identified, and some simple solutions should be adopted to encourage the development of art industry.