Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In the contemporary world, opinions are divided whether art is a vital subject for kids or young students should not squander time on it. While I accept that art might not be as critical as other fields, but it is not to say that it has no redeeming features.

Learning art help early develop children’s creativity which is considered the key to success in many fields. Aesthetic activities always demand a high level of creative thinking; therefore, studying art create a precious environment for kids to practice this ability. Moreover, art is an excellent tool, by which children can express their complex thoughts and emotions. Adolescence, especially who experience mental retardation, often are not able to convey their ideas or show their dreams clearly by verbal skills. In this case, painting could be an effective and easy way to help parents in understanding their children.

Despite those arguments above, there are some reasons why children should not spend their time on art. It is claimed that art study might not promote a decent career in future. In the modern world, people appreciate technology and business more than art. As a result, artists’ income is usually lower as opposed to scientists’ or businessmen's. In addition, artistic skill could not solve many practical problems in daily life. For example, when they want to calculate how much the party will take, mathematical skills might seem to be more advantageous than the artistic one.

In conclusion, while I admitted that art occupied a less important role than other fields, it still holds a certain position in human life.