The availability of entertainment such as video games on handheld devices is harmful to the individual and to the society they live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In an age of Industrialization and globalization, people usually have to deal with high pressure from a professional working environment, so that finding a way of entertaining is certainly a crucial need for everyone and mobile video game is among the choices. Many people believe that this type of entertainment is harmful to people and society. From my point of view, I agree that video games on handheld devices have some obvious drawbacks but their advantages are undeniable.

On the one hand, I truly believe that playing video games is a good way of relaxing. First, games on handheld devices such as smartphones, tablets, … can be brought anywhere and they are especially suitable for being play during a short break which you cannot take part in any physical activities. This is the main reason why many people choose to spend their time on games. Second, playing the mobile game can also broaden your knowledge in some particular ways or you can even widen your network and improve your communication skill by playing MOBA mobile games such as League of Legends.

On the other hand, I am convinced that without being dealt with appropriately, mobile games can cause bad effects such as short-sighted eyes or time-consuming. It is scientifically proved that spending more than three hours a day staring at a phone’s screen can harm your eyes. Besides, being addicted to games also lowers your productivity. For example, when playing a game, I usually lose my focus on time and end up getting distracted from my work, thus I have to turn off the phone to avoid wasting time.

In conclusion, there are some irrefutable drawbacks of playing mobile video games but I believe that by handling them properly, they can absolutely bring benefit.