In countries where there is a high rate of unemployment, most pupils should be offered only primary education. There is no point in offering secondary education to those who have no hope of finding a job. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world of industrialization and globalization, going to school is certainly a crucial stage in people’s life. In some developing countries, many people argue that children should only finish primary school and then go to work, secondary education is unnecessary since most secondary students have no chance of finding a job. From my point of view, I completely disagree with the statement since I believe that even though having a job can bring some benefits, in long term, education plays an irreplaceable role.

On the one hand, I concur that there are some advantages when pupils have a job early, especially in undeveloped countries. Firstly, it is true that in these countries, everything that people may dream about is just what to eat, where to live,… thus, parents might not care to send their kids to secondary school, it is simply a risk. Instead, they let them work so that the whole family can fulfill that simple dream together. Secondly, the education system may not be good enough to offer children many opportunities for developing and socializing in the best way possible. Besides, many jobs here may not require any specialized knowledge or professionally trained workers, thus, children do not need to complete higher education.

On the other hand, I am more convinced that letting children join the workforce without providing them with secondary education will bring tremendous negative effects on individuals and society. Firstly, it is scientifically proved that exposure to heavy works for a long time will cause negative impacts on people’s health, especially for adolescents such as injuries, spinal problems,… therefore, the future of the country is basically not in a safe hand. Secondly, in long term, education is always the best way to develop not only individuals but also society. Taking Japan as a prime example, a country with no natural resources and earthquakes happen on a daily basis but thank an advanced education system, Japan is now among the most developed country on Earth.

In conclusion, although there are some short term benefits when pupils are encouraged to have a job, I truly believe that provide them with sufficient guidance and education is the most effective way to better their life.