The availability of entertainment such as video games on handheld devices are harmful to individual and to the society they live in. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

Nowadays, the video game has become an inevitable part of many people. Some people think it benefits people, whereas, someone argues that causes many drawbacks. In my opinion, I do believe playing video games is both negatively and positively affect people's lives as well as the whole society.

On the one hand, the lives of many people have become a lot fascinating thanks to video games that are invented for not only entertaining but also educational purposes. Apart from amazingly visible images as well as outstanding sound effects on these games, that are extremely useful in term of relaxing, there are some educational games are helpful for students, especially those with special needs. For example, kids will be able to improve their way of critical thinking, solving-problems skills and understand some historical events if they play the Oregon Trail, which came onto the scene in the late 70 years. Moreover, games have offered many great career opportunities for talented people who could design and play video games well. For instance, the father of Flabby Bird has made thousands of dollars from it and playing games online also became a new type of sport, E-sport that has been held in some international competitions.

On the other hand, because of the undeniable attractiveness of video games being equipped in almost every digital device, people may be negatively impacted if they do not use it for the right purposes. Firstly, the huge amount number of teenagers are becoming addicted to online games due to their low self-control, particularly since these games are very easily accessible to them. In this way, they could not pay attention to their studies and their results at school will be gradually declined. Secondly, game online comes in different genres and most of them are violent content like fighting, shooting, and killing. Some children can not differentiate games from reality and end up being violent explaining why the rate of juvenile crime increase in the past several years. Therefore, game addiction has detrimental influences on each people and their society.

In conclusion, video games are useful in terms of entertainment but people should set and enforce limits on games.