The availability of entertainment such as video games on handheld devices are harmful to individual and to the society they live in. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

In recent years, there has been a rise in the popularity of portable devices which enables users to be entertained everywhere they go. Although this kind of entertainment brings some advantages, I believe that it puts more of deleterious effects on both individuals and the public.

In the era of advanced technology, advancements in the entertainment industry are undoubtedly advantageous for some reasons. From an individual perspective, video games are served as one of the most excellent tools which allow people to get away from negative emotions whenever they want, either during breaks or after a long day at work, without having any impact on their productivity. Besides, this kind of entertainment also creates global communities for those who share the same interests. For example, PUBG Mobile has successfully hosted several international competitions and events, thus connecting millions of players, especially the young generation from all around the world.

Beneficial as it may be, this type of relaxation could take their tolls on individuals and the public. It is undeniable that almost all people, especially the youth, are eager to experience modern technological inventions; however, they easily get addicted and cannot resist the lure of entertaining with portable devices, thus resulting in eye-related diseases. More worryingly, youngsters who deluge with such daily protracted activities tend to be less physically active which can eventually lead to a society of people leading sedentary lifestyles. The problem is more complicated when the level of corpulence reaching an unprecedented high, causing the deterioration of health, putting burdens on a country’s health care system and severely affecting the government financial situation.

For the foregoing discussions, I would reiterate that the continuous rise in the number of handheld appliances helps each person in the community entertain with ease but it also exerts some adverse impacts on our life.