The average standard of people's health is likely to be lower in the future than it is now. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is suggested that people's average level of health and wellbeing may became worse in the future compared to today. Personally, I completely disagree with this statement.

With the development in science and medicine sector, people with disease are more likely to be treated. Specifically, scientists and many health professionals have been researching and developing treatments and vaccinations which can cured or prevent untreatable disease. For example, while the smallpox is considered as one of the most horrible infectious disease in the past, it is now no longer threatening to us since most children will receive free immunisations. Therefore, some disease are likely to be cured or be prevented in the future.

Moreover, people from underdeveloped regions will improve their health status in the future with the help of educational sanitary programs. While considerable of population in some developing countries are below the average health standard due to unsanitary lifestyles and lacking education, there are non-for-profit organisations such as the Red Cross and the United Nations have been operating international development programs in order to improve the overall environment and impart sanitary knowledge to these vulnerable groups. For instance, an organisation called PLAN has a program that teach children in Africa how to properly wash their hands and identify edible water and food, thereby prevent them exposing to bacteria.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that the contributions of scientists, health professionals and support from international development programs will benefit our health and wellbeing in the long term. Therefore, I strongly believe that the people will have a higher standard of health in the future.