The best way to deal with the rising problem of traffic and transportations is by encouraging people to live in cities rather than in suburbs or in the countryside.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

It is believed by some that a great way to mitigate the problems related to traffic congestion and transportation is by getting people to move to cities instead of living in urbanisations or rural areas. While this statement might sounds like a logical solution, I believe it would contribute to major problems. People displacements from rural areas to cities could lead to overpopulation.

People moving from the countryside or suburbs to cities in order to eradicate transportation issues will most likely create new problems. Firstly, if people were encouraged to move from far away areas to the city, it would dramatically increase the density of its population and as a result, become over populated. A direct consequence of this action will be the rise of cars on the road, leading to major traffic congestions. For example, in Dublin the traffic is very bad during peak times and it can take at least an hour to get from one extreme of the city to the other.

Furthermore, an influx of population would create an imbalance on the property market as the demand grows, the prices rise significantly . All these people will require housing, therefore increasing the prices of rent and property. Dublin and Galway are great examples of this, there are plenty of opportunities in those cities and many people have moved there to work. A famous Irish newspaper reported recently that in some cases up to ten people could be sharing a house to cut down on rent.

Rather than moving people to the city and overcomplicate the issue, the Government should build alternative roads or motorways to ease the traffic and bring investment to the countryside so people can work where they live.

The Government has to invest in infrastructure and development for cities and towns alike, instead of persuading small populations to move to where transport services are. It is well known that overpopulated cities have more traffic congestion and higher crime rates than the countryside. Finally, it is my belief that encouraging carpooling would be by far more effective.