The best way to deal with the rising problem of traffic and transportations is by encouraging people to live in cities rather than in suburbs or in the countryside.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

It is believed by some that a great way to mitigate the problems related to traffic congestion and transportation is by getting people to move to cities instead of living in urbanisations or rural areas. While this statement might sounds like a logical solution, I believe it would contribute to major problems. People displacements from rural areas to cities could lead to overpopulation.

People moving from the countryside or suburbs to cities in order to eradicate transportation issues will most likely create new problems. Firstly, if people were encouraged to move from far away areas to the city, it would dramatically increased the density of its population and as a result, become over populated. A direct consequence of this action will be the rise of cars on the road, leading to major traffic congestions. For example, in Dublin the traffic is very bad during peak times and it can take at least an hour to get from one extreme of the city to the other.

Furthermore, not everyone wants to live in the city. Some people prefer to live in the country side as it offer benefits that cities cant. People are in touch with nature, there is less stress, less pollution, and less crime, which makes it ideal for bringing up children. Despite the lack of job opportunities, people are happier.

In order to deal with transportation issues, alternative roads could be built to ease the traffic and at the same time more jobs would be created.

The Government has to invest in infrastructure and development for cities and towns alike, instead of persuading them to move small populations to where transport services are. It is well known that overpopulated cities have more traffic congestion and higher crime rates than the countryside. Finally, it is my belief that encouraging carpooling would be by far more effective.