The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is to provide free public transport in 24 hours per day, and seven days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many cities around the world are troubled by the bad condition of transport, especially some megacities where the commuters usually suffer from traffic congestion at the same time of day. People argue that the government should offer free public transportation all day. I disagree with this opinion, and I believe that this service is not the best way and other measures should be taken.

In my opinion, there is no doubt that zero-fare transport plays a significant role in easing traffic jams which is the critical public issue focused by the government and the people. However, no matter how attractive it is, people cannot live without using private cars as there may be some emergency in their life. Thus, providing free transport solely contribute to decreasing the number of private vehicle to some extent. What is more, there are many megacities like Beijing still suffering from an awful traffic condition in narrow roads with out-of-date infrastructure in spite of the increase in availability of public transport. I would argue that the street needs to be widened and the machine of traffic management and operation should be updated.

I also disagree with the idea that zero-fare transport should be provided in 24 hours per day. It is a substantial waste that authority chooses to combat the problem via offering people a free traffic service under any circumstance, leaving a burden on the government budget. Traffic jams mainly occur during the rush hour. Consequently, it is useless to provide this service all the time. It would be more economical if the money used to take such unrealistic measures were invested in enhancing road facilities.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that other measures rather than providing free transport may be more efficient to traffic congestion. Meanwhile, more investment in the road system should be distributed to allow commuters to feel more comfortable and convenient.