International travel makes people prejudiced rather than broad-minded. What are its causes and what measures can be taken to solve this problem?

People becoming prejudiced against the countries they have traveled to seems to be an increasing problem in many countries. I believe that lack of understanding regarding the local culture responsible for this and that measures should be taken to combat this situation.

People generally know little about the culture of their destination. Although it is significantly convenient to search the relevant information just via travel journal or websites, they are more inclined to view the culture of the place according to their already possessing knowledge, which may lead to two types of unpleasant experience after beginning their journey. Firstly, some of them might miss the chances of visiting the place of historical interest and learning through local traditional culture. As a Chinese saying goes, no visit to Beijing is complete if you miss seeing the Great Wall or dining on Roast Duck. At the end of the trip, they may argue that it is such a tiresome journey, obviously deepening the prejudice against the country.

At the same time, people from foreign countries ordinarily lack awareness of and respect for the local culture. There might be a conflict for sightseers with the locals who provide tour guide service and others, brought by misunderstanding and leading to people being more inclined against tourist destination.

I think, therefore, the travelers need to alter the preparation for their traveling, getting to know the tradition carefully through travel agencies rather than relying on their general knowledge. Meanwhile, the local authority should take the initiative to conduct their traditional culture to visitors, such as setting up reception at airports to introduce the information for those just arriving and having doubts.

With the efforts of the government and tourists, such measures could reduce the sense of prejudice during the traveling. Indeed, nobody wants to spend a terrible holiday and suffer discrimination.