Some students take one year off between finishing school and going to university, in order to travel or to work. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

More students just having graduated from high school would opt to take a gap year for travel or work rather than go on to college directly. In my opinion, while one year off may harm the students’ study at the university, it is more likely to have more positive impacts.

There may be some disadvantages caused by the remarkable year regarding students’ study. Those who choose such experience generally spend the whole year going anywhere they prefer to go, even traveling around the world. Meanwhile, some of them would be devoted to their daily work. In other words, it is evident that neither would they have sufficient time to review what they have learned before, nor preview what they would be taught after being the undergraduate, leading to the forgetting of obtained knowledge and even failure to keep up with university courses.

However, I believe that these advantages of taking one year off are more critical. Firstly, for those planning to travel around instead of entering the college immediately, the gap year allows them to relieve the pressure resulted from the college entrance examination. What’s more, as an extension of school education, the college-bound students could learn what would be determined in class, such as famous historical and cultural site or local customs all over the world, which substantially widens their visions. As for others who become employees during the one year off, they could earn a considerable amount of income used for college tuition and living expenses, reducing the financial burden of parents. Besides, they gain vital work experience for future employment through the work.

In summary, I argue that students should choose one year off from graduating from school to being the undergraduate, because there will be more advantages than disadvantages if they do so.