The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is providing free public transport in 24 hours per day, and seven days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The idea that providing public transport all time in the day and all day in a week is considered as the best way to tackle the traffic jam remains a source of controvery. While nobody can deny the advantage of this way, I am more convinced that this policy should not be implemented.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that offering free public transport brings some advantages. Firstly, this solution will significantly decrease the number of private vehicles on the road. due to the fact that it takes no money when travelling by bus or train will encourage more people to travell by public transport. Therefore, traffic jam will be controlled. Secondly, travelling by this means of transport contributes to protect enviroment. this means that, the decreasing vehicles on the road leads to the decreasing the amount of exhaust fumes which is one of the main factors causing air pollution.

On the other hand, there are some reasons why goverments should not providing free public transport in 24 hours everyday. Obiviously, if they implement this policy, they would face with the financial problem because of the limited budget. By this I mean, when authorities invert more money in public transport, they would lack of fund for other fields such as health, education,... it is important to balance the budget for the development of country. Moreover, governments should take more money for the road system in stead or vehicles like trains or bus. due to the fact that the poor quality of this system is the main factor of the traffic congestion.

In conclusion, though there are some benefits of offering free public transport in 24 hours every day, it seems to me that it would be better to make others solutions.