The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is providing free public transport in 24 hours per day, and seven days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

some people open that the final solution to Urban traffic congestion is to provide free public transport. I, however, beg to differ. I believe that free public transport could help in solving the traffic problem to some extent, but it definitely is not the best solution, as it would lead to many other problems.

there are many reasons y free public transport would be a good method to solve traffic congestion. Undoubtedly, many people, especially daily commuters, would benefit from free public transport. but such a service would be a big burden on the governments, as it would require a a lot of funds to maintain such free services. Moreover, a considerable proportion of these services would be wasted, as this would be under used on weekends and midnights. therefore , it would not be practical on economic grounds to run free public transport.

there are numerous other ways to solve the traffic problems. The most effective would be to encourage people to use public transport. could be done by decreasing the fare, increasing the comfort and increasing the frequency of public transport. Obviously, if people do not have to waste time waiting for the bus or train, get comfortable seats and have to pay for less than what they would have to spend on their own personal vehicle, then they would willingly choose public transport and would not mind paying for it.

To sum up, having a totally free public transport would not be practical to implement, as it would not be economically viable for the government. therefore, it it would not be the best method. The better methods would be to encourage people to use public transport by making it better.