The best way to improve road safety is to lower speed limits. To what extent do you agree?

The number of road accidents is increasing year by year. Some people suggest reducing the maximum speed limit in order to prevent this growing trend; however, I believe that other alternatives are far more effective.

There are some valid reasons why reduction in speed limit can have a positive impact on road safety. The main one is that it could be protective for the general public as it gives drivers more time to react to the situation. For example, lower speeds can help drivers stop more quickly to avoid hitting a passenger who swerve into the road suddenly. In addition to this, the less the speed of a car, the less the severity of an accident. If a driver crashes into a tree or wall at 30 km/h, the damage may be negligible compared to colliding it at 70 or 80 km/h. However, this is not to say it is the best way.

Nevertheless, in my opinion, other methods can provide better results regarding road safety. The number-one option is to train drivers in high quality courses. This training should include defensive driving skills, impacts caused by injuries and death, understanding the importance of road infrastructure and strict testing system in the long run. Increasing the number of cameras and road traffic controllers is another effective solution. This is because these discourage car drivers to speed up and even if they do, it may cause many fines which can lead to burden of budget. Thus, above-mentioned alternatives would be more practical.

To conclude, although low speed limits can diminish car accidents and seriousness of the damage, I think that this is not the best way of improving road safety.