The best way to resolve the international environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Nowadays, enviromental problems is becoming more severed and one major cause is the use of fossil fuels. To counter the problem, many governments decided to increase the cost of fuel. However, I believe that this is just a temporary and not a long – term solution.

It is undeniable that increasing the price of fuel has some effects on reducing the use of vehicles, thus, the exhaust emission. This has proven to be effective in some cities, reducing air pollution and also, congestion. With higher cost of fuel, people are more likely to turn to vehicles that use less fuel. As a result, manufacturers will invest more in the next generation of vehicles that is more fuel – efficient or consume no fuel at all, such as cars running on electricity. Consequently, this will accelerate greatly the development of alternative energies.

Nevertheless, I believe this measure is just a temporary solution. While people will use vehicles less often as the price goes up, the number of personal vehicles is increasing along with population growth. As a result, the amount of greenhouse gases will not drop as significantly as we need. In addition, vehicle is indispensable in many works, so theirs use is unlikely to reduced in those areas regardless the cost of fuel. For better solutions, we should invest more in the development of renewable energies as they are more reliable, enviromental – friendly and practically inexhaustible.

In conclusion, increasing the cost of fuel might be a quick and low –cost solution in short-term. However, there are better options for a good long –term solution for the fight against enviromental problems.