The best way to resolve international environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

International experts have proposed many solutions to tackle global environmental issues. While raising fuel prices would be a useful measure to fight climate changes, I disagree that it would represent the best way to alleviate environmental problems.

National authorities should raise taxes on the cost of fuel. By adopting this policy, governments would certainly ensure that people used their cars less. Fewer car journeys would mean a reduction in exhaust emissions. This would have global consequences, slowing the process of global warming, as the amount of greenhouse gases released into the atmosphere was reduced. In terms of depletion of natural resources, world supplies of oil will not last forever, and by increasing petrol prices, there would be less dependence on fossil fuels. Thus, I believe that international bodies should exert pressure on countries to raise the cost of fuel.

However, I would argue that there are more effective ways to tackle international environmental problems. Firstly, from the perspective of transport policy, introducing restrictions on the use of private vehicles must be high on the government agenda in all countries. For example, the congestion charge on vehicles in London has improved the air quality. Secondly, government must allocate resources to the development of alternative energy resources to power motor vehicles and machinery in factory production. Finally, as part of wider effort to achieve sustainable development, international cooperation to share scientific knowledge and advances in technology should be a top priority. This range across issues such as the exploitation of renewable energy, marine conversation and the reclamation of arable land, halting the spread of deserts in places like sub-Saharan Africa.

In conclusion, although raising the cost of fuel would be a welcome measure, more effective steps are required to deal with a range of global environmental issues.