In some countries, more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development ?

Nowadays, there exists a rising tendency of people choosing to live alone in many countries. While this lifestyle certainly have many advantages, there are some huge drawback that should not be neglected.

The first and most obvious advantage of living alone is absolute freedom. By living alone, we can do whatever we want whenever we want, which is a special privilege that can hardly obtain otherwise. This kind of lifestyle can certainly be a efficient way to enhance one’s independence. As we live alone by ourselves, we are forced to learn to manage and balance every aspects of our lives. Though this process, a person can grow up substantially, become more responsible and reliable.

However, the downsides of living alone lie within its biggest advantage. Having total freedom, without any restrictions, can sometime leads our life to an disordered and undesirable state. This is particularly true for many youngsters, who are inexperienced and not good at discipline themselves. Because the lifestyle encourage a more closed and secretive life, they generally do not receive proper guidance and warnings for everyday matters. With this lack of advice, them prone to give in to temptation and easily lose sight of their goals.

To conclude, I agree that living alone provides a luxurious total freedom while also greatly help in one’s growth in adulthood. Nevertheless, I argue that this lifestyle is a positive way of living for everyone with considerable disadvantages.