The best way to solve the world’s environmental problem is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is believed that the most effective approach to overcome environmental-related issues is to set a higher price of fuel. While I agree with this step as a policy, some methods should be taken into account so solve this problem.

On the one hand, it might be true that increasing fuel prices will discourage people from using private vehicles as it costs them a considerable amount of money. As people knew that transportation is the primary source of greenhouse emission harmful to the environment as well as people’s health, so when transport density in the street decrease, the number of exhaust gases will incline as well. Furthermore, people will prefer to use public transportation as the main transport since it is more economical than driving their motorcycle or car. This will reduce air pollution and increase the quality of air fresh as well as the life of people.

On the other hand, albeit, it can be said that this policy can solve not all environmental problem, there are many issues in our environment unrelated to fuel. Firstly, industries do illegal logging more and more for the sake of fulfilling the market’s needs. This phenomenon will cause some natural disasters such as floods and landslides, which might kill many people. Increasing the price of fuel will not profoundly influence the way people cutting down the trees. Secondly, it is about plastic-related problems. It seems impossible to me that such a policy can minimize the use of plastic. People will keep doing this although they realize that plastic is very harmful to our environment as it is hard to be absorbed and destroy the ecosystem, not only land animals but also water.

In conclusion, it seems that setting the higher price of fuel is the best step to tackle the problem of the environment; some issues are requiring special treatments and approaches such as illegal logging and plastic problems.