Some employers offer their employees subsidized membership of gyms and sports clubs, believing that this will make their staff healthier and thus more effective at work. Other employer see no benefit in doing so

Employers are always seeking ways to enhance their employees’ productivity. While some people believe that subsidizing healthy pursuits should be excluded from achieving this goal, others feel that it should be taken into account for some plausible reasons. There are arguments on both sides, however, which we will discuss here.

On the one hand, opponents of subsidized sport argue that the problem with such leisure-based subsidies is that their efficacy is virtually impossible to quantify. For example, with target-related payments, employers can at least see whether the objectives are reached or not. It might also be said that, if this budget was spent on (for instance) on the job training or day release programmes, the employees would achieve better career progression and have better job prospects. These matters are all easier to measure, especially in performance reviews and appraisals, and may even help to reduce the risk of redundancy if the company restructures, downsizes or outsources its workforce.

On the other hand, though, proponents of this view say that if workers are fitter and less stressed, their working time will be more efficient, leading to higher levels of output and service. Furthermore, the work/life balance of the staff will hopefully be improved, because their leisure time will be more fulfilling. This may even be more motivating than pay increments, perks, or financial rewards such as bonuses or incentives which may be hard to attain. Finally, feeling healthier may lead to better job satisfaction, which is in itself a motivating factor.

Overall, it seems to me that health-related subsidies are worth implementing because of the positive impacts that employees may gain to motivate themselves and reach higher levels of performance. This is as long as employers keep spending funds on ongoing training to ensure better career development of their employees.