The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental problems become an essential issue facing us in this day and age. Some people believe that raising the cost of gasoline for cars is the best way to tackle this issue. In my opinion, while this solution might be useful, there are other more effective alternatives.

On the one hand, several problems might be solved by increasing the fuel prices. Firstly, people would take public transport rather than driving their private cars. As a result, traffic congestions would be reduced as well as emissions would lessen. Secondly, fossil fuels consumption would be decreased. Therefore, there would be fewer harmful fumes exhausted to the environment. Both these problems could be tackled and this would lower the global warming on our planet. Moreover, this might reduce the risk of respiratory diseases on people’s health.

While this measure is effective in some cases, I believe that several solutions are more beneficial to our environment in the long term rather than increasing the cost of petrol. To begin with, it would be better to promote the use of eco-friendly resources such as solar energy, wind power, hydropower. These types of energy are renewable and unlimited, as well as greenhouse effect would be reduced. Furthermore, the government should take encourage residents to reuse or recycle their household wastes into consideration. They could hold some competitions about recycling between local areas, this can help to increase the competitiveness of individuals and they would recycle more than they can. Therefore, less trash is dumped and environmental problems could be reduced.

In conclusion, the rise in petrol prices is a good method for the environment, however, I believe there are a number of solutions that are more suitable in the long term.