The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, the profound impacts of fuel usage on the environment has been a hot issue. A school of thought believes that the foremost green step is raising the price of this energy to decrease its consumption.. However, I completely disagree with this suggestion because it is not only ineffective but also inferior to better public awareness and more sustainable substitutes.

Firstly, the great demand for fuel in human lives and development makes this solution futile. To be more precise, those who propose higher fuel cost argue that this step can encourage users to reduce the consumption of this carbon-intensive energy due to heavier financial burden. This means a shrinkage of carbon footprint, and consequently less pollution. Whereas, this scenario seems unlikely as fuel has become deeply ingrained in the majority of human activities such as transportation, production and so on. Therefore, an increase in fuel cost neither lower the need for this conventional power nor alleviate environmental problems brought by its usage.

Besides, raising awareness and renewable energies appear more feasible than exorbitantly pricing fuel. Considering the former, the governments can increase the level of subsidy to environmental campaigns to develop public consciousness of the adversity of non-renewable energy. This would encourage an eco-friendly lifestyle with various steps to protect the environment on an individual level such as using biodegradable packaging instead of plastic one, favoring public transports over private vehicles, etc. Moreover, government coffers should be allocated more to the development of renewables, for example wind and solar power. This can accelerate the switch from traditional power to greener alternatives, which would both satisfy the great energy demand in human daily lives and reverse environmental deterioration bred by carbon-intensive power.

In conclusion, higher fuel prices do not necessarily shrink the usage of this non-renewable energy and ease its negative effects. Instead, increasing public environmental consciousness and the popularity of sustainable powers appear to be more holistic remedies.