The birth rate in most developed countries is predicted to begin to fall over the next 50 years. By 2030 it is estimated that over one third of the population in most developed countries will be aged 65 and over. What effects will these prediction have on developed countries if they prove true? What can be done now to deal with this situation?

It is undoubtedly the case that is related to decrease in birth rate and increase in the old age population of developed countries which is also affecting the society adversely. In this essay, I will examine the possible reasons for this trend and suggest some of the practical policies that authorities could implement to overcome the problem.

Broadly speaking, there are three main reasons for this trend.This first and foremost effect is on the economy as there will be no working population of the country which will ultimately lead to reduction in the productivity of the developed countries. A possible solution for this trend could be migration of youth from developing countries. This will not only help to balance out the population but also it will help to maintain the productivity of the country. Reduction in birth rate and increament in the over aged people resulted in increase in the burden of government as they have to provide pensions to the old age people. Subsequently, In order to fulfill this condition, the government increases the taxes. Consequently, the burden gets transferred to the working population as they have to pay high taxes. A possible remedy for this could be to revise the policies and maintain a balance in providing pensions and charging taxes.

Thirdly, this trend could have detrimental effects on the defence area as there will be no young population to protect the country from any kind of danger. The developed countries can make use of advanced technology and resources available with them. Even the country can take in intiative in making good relation wit other developed countries. So, that they can help them in difficult times. Military services must be made compulsory in high schools to fulfill their needs.

In conclusion there are variety of factors that have led to make this problem. A complete solution to this could be providing easy visa so that young people can migrate with ease. Proper child planning must be implemented by the government.