Boxing is a blood sport which often results in physical injury. It is inappropriate for this sport to exist in the modern age.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The debate about whether boxing should be prohibited due to its violent, gory nature, or should still be categorised as a sport poses great controversy in the modern time. Although some would argue that boxing encompasses sufficient elements to be declared a sport, I do not hold the same view

To begin, most boxing programs are often broadcasted on TV, which means that children are at risk of exposure to inappropriate content at an early age. As a result, this may have an adverse effect on their growth and mindset development, for example the drama of Mike Tyson. Furthermore, because boxing often involves brutal actions, showcasing the sport on TV could be seen as an attempt to promote violence on a large scale. In addition, boxing itself is a highly unstable job for boxers themselves since it is likely that they would suffer permanent damage which could cost them their whole career and even their whole future.

On the other hand, it is understandable that boxing has long been accepted as a sport because of the rigorous training sessions a boxer has to undergo and because of its entertainment value. Boxing is also a big sport industry, therefore, the salary of professional boxers are usually high enough to outweigh the potential dangers.

In conclusion, even though watching a boxing match seems to be entertaining, I strongly agree that the sport is immoral and outdated in the modern time, therefore should be prohibited.