The Internet is now used all around the world as a source of information and communication. However, it's often controversial, so many people think it needs to be controlled. Others believe there should be no interference whatsoever.

Discuss both points of view, and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Following the development and advancement of technology, the internet has become a popular means of communication and sharing information. Although some people believe that the internet should be an open platform for everyone with as few restrictions as possible, I personally think the opposite.

Firstly is the issue of misleading information, or more commonly called “fake news”, which is dangerous because they can manipulate users to think in a particular way that may even lead to violation of laws, for example, some people give false information regarding the policies of the government in order to convince other individuals to cause a riot. Secondly, some websites are designed for the sole purpose of stealing user’s data, for instance mobile phone number or home address. These can then be sold to another company, thus making a profit for the hacker.

It is understandable that some people want the internet to function without regulations since this has multiple benefits. It means that users can be more free in terms of posting and sharing contents of their preferences. It could also mean that some information that was previously blocked in some countries can now be available to be viewed by any users, including people within that country, hence increasing the diversity of information sources.

In conclusion, although the development of technology has positive implications, it has also deepened the issue of online security, especially when hackers are constantly inventing new programs to bypass the security network. For this reason, I strongly believe that strict measures are a must to ensure safety for online users.