Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets, and groceries, is becoming more and more popular.

Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

The promotional argument to continue online purchasing are immense and in short to include a few; no queues, instant satisfaction of the purchase (such as e-books or music that is downloaded immediately), speedy feedback on availability, booking and confirmation of payment as well as the ability to review comments and statements by other consumers regarding services and purchases, not to even mention, price comparison!For example, we travelled internationally in September 2019 and received an offer for a large discount on the seats booked for air travel, due to the ability to selectvarious offers and reviewthese and other offers. In contrast, themost negative aspect of online purchasing is that your personal,and more importantly, yourfinancial information,is available to be used by hackers. In which, unfortunately, I have some previous experience of. Whilst booking guesthouses and hotels in a foreign country, we had to include our credit card details to enable reservation of the venues. Before our departure we noticed 2 large and unauthorised withdrawals from our bank account and on further investigation we concluded that it wasfraudulent.The result being that we had to stop the current card and order new credit card, just days before departure. In summary, purchasing goods online removes the frustrationof waiting in long lines and is satisfying together with a multitude of other advantages, nonetheless , the abuse of one’s personal financial data, is certainly a big disadvantage