Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’

How true do you think this statement is?

What measure can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

The sharp rise in the number of car ownership was recorded appears and becomes worse in many cities in the world now. In my opinion, I significantly agree with this statement and suggest some measures for government to deal with this problem.

One of reasons that affect traffic jam in cities, I believe, is the increase in the number of cars, which is implicated by the quantity of people owning cars. If a person has an individual car, he will trend to driving his car instead of using public transports. Moreover, the increase of ownership can lead to the decrease requirements of sharing car, which also involves to overcrowded vehicle streets.

Regarding with measures, there are some methods that can be potential to solve this issue. Firstly, governments should introduce a law to drop the number of cars traveling in cities, specially the peak hours. For example, in the UK, its government charges fee for movement in the cities, then they recorded that the number of vehicles went down as a result. Or in China, there are a law implements that only cars’ vehicle identified numbers that were even numbers moved in cities on even days per week. Secondly, governments can also decrease the tickets’ price of public transports, such as metro, bus, to support residences’ cities using them. Following by that, traffic jam can also become better.

In conclusion, I believe that the increase in the quantity of car ownership concerns with the worse traffic jam in cities. And there are the solutions to deal with this problem, such as charging fee to cars moving in cities and decreasing the cost of tickets’ public transports.