Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’.

How true do you think this statement is?

What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

The number of cars on roads had shown a large rise over the last thirty years due to which a lot of cities across the world are reffered to as ‘one large traffic jam’. In my opinion, this statement is completely true as it has also led to rise in pollution level. I think that government should take various steps to halt the usage of cars amongst people.

The reason why this statement seems fully true to me is, large number of vehicles especially cars have led to a rise in the traffic problem. Due to the large traffic jam, people find it hard to reach their work place or educational institute on time. People are frustrated because of huge amount of vehicles on roads which often results in some sort of fights or disputes. In other words, I live in a metropolitan city and there is a large traffic on road everytime. I always reach my school late. I am even not on time for examinations. Consequently, traffic have a adverse effect on my development.

The government can take a lot of measures to lessen the number of cars on roads. The first step can be to encourage the use of public transport. The government should improve the facilities of public vehicles. This can include cleanliness and availability of pure water in the buses. Moreover, the fare charged by these vehicles should be reduced to a large extent so that more and more individuals use them. Next, the government should create awareness among people by organising seminars based on the negative effects of car on the health and environment. The public should be made aware of the pollution and traffic caused by the usage of cars.